Flowering Bushes · Flowers · Gardening

Flowers Blooming in Our Garden in June and July – Part 1.

Our new Bloom Struck hydrangea in front of our house.
Our new Bloom Struck hydrangea in front of our house.

I have already showed you our roses blooming in June and July of this year. If you didn’t see them, you can check out part 1 and 2 article about our roses. Besides roses we have many other flower and some shrubs blooming this summer.

Below you will see more pictures from our garden, which were taken during the past 1.5 month and most of them are from July.

Above and in the picture below you can see our pretty new “Bloom Struck” hydrangea, which I have purchased during the summer of last year. I have planted it in front of our house and it continued to bloom with various shades of pink and purple flowers till the late fall.  This year it has many flowers and now most of them look light pink or delicate shade of green, but they will be probably changing colour to more deep burgundy red as they age.

I have protected this flowering bush from freezing winter temperatures by wrapping it in two layers of burlap and adding cedar woodchips on the top of its roots. I have only given it a very slight trim in the early spring cutting some dead branches.  I waited with it till the new leaves started to appear to make sure which part of hydrangea was still alive.  It flowers on old and new wood, so it is important to cut as little as possible to avoid cutting this year’s flower buds.

Here is another look on this hydrangea this year. Beside it there is blue-purple scaveola and Abbotsford rose.
Here is another look on this hydrangea this year. Beside it there is blue-purple Scaveola and Abbotsford rose.

Abbotsford rose is growing beside it on the right and 2 blue-purple Scaveolas in front of it. I think their colours and shapes compliment each other. I had Scaveola flower blooming there last year, but it didn’t survive the winter. I ike it so much, I purchased two more this year. The one I had last year was blooming all the time till late fall.

Below you can see other blue flowers blooming in front of our house. I can’t find their label anymore, but I think their name is  Campanula poscharskyana ‘Camgood’ (blue waterfall Serbian bellflower). I have planted them there sometimes during the summer last year and they were blooming for a long time, but were much smaller. These year they have grown taller and were blooming even better. They would probably be growing even nicer if they had more light. After a while the flowers stalks started falling to the ground. I have cut them down a bit and hope they will continue to bloom.

I think this flower's name is Campanula poscharskyana ‘Camgood’ (blue waterfall Serbian bellflower). They bloom very well in front of our house, which is facing East, July, 2017.
I think this flower’s name is Campanula poscharskyana ‘Camgood’ (blue waterfall Serbian bellflower). They bloom very well in front of our house, which is facing East, July, 2017.

We presently have 2 kinds of perennial geraniums growing in our garden. One of them “Clystal Rose” with bight pink-magenta flowers, was mostly flowering in May and the beginning of June. The second one, which I can’t find a label for, has grown much bigger than the first one and continues to bloom with hundreds of flowers.  I have purchased both of them last year during the summer. The second one is now at least 2.5-3 feet across and it was only in about 5″ pot when I have bouthe it. I am very happy with this plant and hope it will continue to bloom so well during the rest of the summer.  I have cut the spent flowers of Crystal Rose geranium, so maybe it will rebloom as well.

Below you can see our Ebb Tide rose with the constantly booming geranium I have just mentioned.

Ebb Tide rose and geranium blooming in our garden, July, 2017.
Ebb Tide rose and geranium blooming in our garden, July, 2017.

 

Here you can see both our geraniums blooming side by side with Ebb Tide rose starting to bloom in June, 2017. The one which is still blooming is lighter in colour. It has some rosy tint in the middle of their leaves, so they are pretty decorative as well.
Here you can see both our geraniums blooming side by side with Ebb Tide rose starting to bloom in June, 2017. The one which is still blooming is lighter in colour. It has some rosy tint in the middle of their leaves, so they are pretty decorative as well.

June is the month in which our Sweet Mock Orange shrub is usually blooming. Its flowers have very beautiful, sweet, but delicate jasmine scent. This year its main, tallest branch was damaged by frost or perhaps by freezing rains. The shrub was not coming to live for a long time and I almost thought I have lost it, but finally the first leaves started to appear on lower branches.

It was blooming very nicely in June for about 2 weeks, but I could not enjoy it as much as usually because of almost constant rains we had here during this time.  The flowers were damaged by the wet conditions and didn’t last as long as they could.  The sent of this flower is so delicate, that surprisingly is not detectable by all people. I have very good sense of smell and I feel a strong fragrance coming from this flower where I smell it bringing the flowers close to my nose, but I have showed them to some other people and not everybody can feel their smell. I think some other varieties of this shrub, which have less decorative flowers, have stronger fragrance.  To find our more about this sweet-scented shrub, you can read my article about it here.

Sweet Mock Orange and Hostas in our garden, June 2017.
Sweet Mock Orange and Hostas in our garden, June 2017.

I think, when in bloom, this shrubs looks very beautiful beside our Hostas.  When it was blooming, they were just developing their flowering stalks. When our “Jasmine’s” flowers were almost gone, Hostas were in full bloom with beautiful lavender or light purple flowers (we have more than one Hosta variety).

Below you can have a closer look at our Hostas getting ready to bloom, with Periwinkle growing around them as grand cover. This easy to grow perennial was blooming beautifully in spring with dark purple flowers.  Contrary to Hostas, which die to the ground in our climate during the winter, it has beautiful, evergreen leaves (we are in zone 5 b).

One of our hostas blooming, July, 2017.
One of our Hostas blooming, July, 2017.

I will tell you more about plans flowering in our garden during June and July in my next post. Stay tuned and subscribe to my Vibrant Garden blog to receive automatic updates.

Following and Sharing this Blog.

If you like this article, please share it with other people who might be inserted in reading it as well.  Thank you. I  encourage you to follow or subscribe to this blog to receive automatic updates, so you won’t miss future posts.  I look forward to your comments.

The Copyright.

All photographs and this article are copyrighted by me, Renata Ratajczyk unless otherwise mentioned. I you would like to use any of them in your publications or on your website, please contact me.

Other Articles You Might Also Like to Read.

  1. Roses Blooming in our garden – Part 1.
  2. Roses Blooming in our garden – Part 2.
  3. Gloriosa Superba lily – tropical beauty.
  4. Black Beauty lily.
  5. Sweet Mock Orange – add jasmine fragrance to your garden.
  6. Peony Festival and Show, GTA area, 2016, Canada.
  7. Visiting Niagara Park’s Botanical Gardens, Part 1.
  8. Visiting Niagara Park’s Botanical Gardens, Part 2.
  9. A Beautiful Italian Garden For You to Visit – “Giardino Sigurtà” in Valeggio sul Mincio, Northern Italy.
  10. Memorial Day Rose.
  11. Growing Eden – Climbing Rose.
One thought on “Flowers Blooming in Our Garden in June and July – Part 1.

Leave a Reply

