Flowers · Gardening · Roses

Eden Rose, Admired by Many Climbing Rose.

About Eden Rose in Our Garden.

Eden rose in our garden is relatively new arrival.  I have purchased it last year from my favorite local nursery – Vandermeer,  around the end of May 2016.

 

Here is Eden rose in the middle of June, 2016, about 2 weeks after I have planted it. It already started making flower buds and was blooming about week later.
Here is Eden rose in the middle of June, 2016, about 2 weeks after I have planted it in our garden. It already started making flower buds and was blooming about week later.

At this time, it was not blooming yet, so I was hesitating if I should buy it, since I prefer to see a rose in full bloom before I purchase it to make sure I really like its flowers. For a while, I was looking for a good climbing rose for our garden, with full, old fashioned looking flowers. I have heard this rose is one of the best and most beautiful climbing roses. Since roses were selling fast, I was afraid this popular rose might be out of stock soon and I have decided to take a risk and buy it.

It was about one and half foot tall and looked healthy. I have decided to place it on the left from the entrance to our garden to cover a fence from this side.  This part of my garden is getting sunshine only in the afternoon, but there is at least 6 hours of sunshine there, so I though it should be a good place for this rose. I have added some peat moss and compost to the planting hole since our garden’s soil is mostly clay.

Once planted, within a month or so, this rose started growing pretty fast and over a few months becoming much taller and wider. During most of the season, till around the end of the summer, its leaves looked nice green and healthy and were rarely attacked by insects. They become more susceptible to such attacks in the fall. So far this rose seems also to have good disease resistance.

Eden rose in our garden exactly one month later after I have planted it there. At this time some flowers have improved and started looking more like Eden rose. Also see how beautiful and healthy are its leaves.
Eden rose in our garden exactly one month later after I have planted it there. At this time some flowers have improved and started looking more like Eden rose. Also see how beautiful and healthy are its leaves.

It started creating flower buds in about 2 weeks after I have planted it and it was blooming from the third week of June and at the beginning of July. The first flowers were mostly white with just a little bit of cream or light pink colour, quite average looking and they have bloomed close to the ground. I was pretty disappointment and was even wondering if it is indeed Eden rose. They didn’t look at all like Eden rose I have seen in various publications and on the Internet. I can’t find any pictures of the first flowers, so I am not able to show them here. There were only a few of them. They have lasted only for a couple of days and had strong tendency to hang face down, so it was hard to see them, especially because they have also formed very close to the ground.

However, this rose slowly continued making more flowers and by the end of June, about one month since I have planted it, some flowers have improved and started looking more like Eden rose. I am posting a few pictures of them below.

This flower of Eden rose in our garden looks more like Eden rose is supposed to look. This particular flower seems to be smiling with a smiley face in its middle. I like delicate pastel colours of this rose with light cream and soft blush of pink in the center.
This flower of Eden rose in our garden looks more like Eden rose is supposed to look. This particular flower seems to be smiling with a smiley face in its middle. I like delicate pastel colours of this rose with light cream and soft blush of pink in the center.

 

Eden rose in our garden in the end of June, 2016, around one month later after I have planted it.
Eden rose in our garden in the end of June, 2016, around one month later after I have planted it.

Other flower of this rose looked still different and more average like those below.

Eden rose in our garden in the end of June, 2016. These flowers seem to be looking different and not as much as the Eden rose is supposed to be.
Eden rose in our garden in the end of June, 2016. These flowers seem to be looking different and not as much as the Eden rose is supposed to be.

 

More average looking flowers of Eden rose in our garden in the end of June, 2016. I guess this rose just needed more time to establish itself and then work on perfecting its flowers.
More average looking flowers of Eden rose in our garden in the end of June, 2016. I guess this rose just needed more time to establish itself and then work on perfecting its flowers.

The flowers continue to improve and by the beginning of July, in about 5 weeks later from the date when I have planted this rose, they looked very much like Eden rose is supposed to be, as you can see in the picture below, except that they were mostly white and I was hoping this rose would have more of pink colour blush.  Perhaps it needed more time to establish itself, or there was not enough light on this side of the garden. At this time we also had very high temperatures and July was the hottest month ever on record in this area, with very little rain. I know that temperatures, as well as light intensity, can affect colours of some roses, as well as the number of flowers they produce. When it was so extremely hot and dry during July of last year, some of my other roses also stopped blooming or were blooming much less.

I have also noticed that when temperatures cooled down a bit, colours of the newly produced rose flowers usually looked more saturated. I was watering my roses regularly, but soon after Eden rose has flowered beautifully at the beginning of July, as you can see below, it stopped blooming for almost two months. I though this rose should be reblooming and bloom for much longer time. The flowers seemed to be rather short lasting, but it could have been because of so high temperatures.

Eden rose growing in our garden, 2016. This picture was taken at the beginning of July, 2016, in about 5 weeks since I have planted this rose there. Here the flowers look beautiful and already very much like Eden rose is supposed to be.
Eden rose growing in our garden, 2016. This picture was taken at the beginning of July, 2016, in about 5 weeks since I have planted this rose there. Here the flowers look beautiful and already very much like Eden rose is supposed to be.

Eden rose continued growing fast and making a lot of new branches and leaves. By September it was already about 5.5 feet tall. I knew this climbing rose could grow from 4-12 feet, so it looked like it was on the way there.

I was fertilizing it quite regularly, usually once per month starting in about 2 weeks after I have planted it, so from around the middle of June,  and I have used special rose fertilizer. If I remember well, once or twice I have also added little bit of bone meal around its roots.  The last time I have fertilized it was in the middle of August, so about 2 months before the average date of our first frost.

On the right in the picture below, you can see our Eden rose in the third week of August, 2016. See how much it has grown already, but there were no flowers at all at this time.

Here on the right of this flower bed you can see Eden rose in our garden in the third week of August, 2016. This was the first season of this rose in our garden. It has already grown a few feet since I have planted it around the end of May of that year.
Here on the right of this flower bed you can see Eden rose in our garden in the third week of August, 2016. This was the first season of this rose in our garden. It has already grown a few feet since I have planted it around the end of May of that year.

Here is Eden rose in the middle of September, 2016. You can see how huge it has become only within a few months and I had to cut some branches in the meantime since there were too many of them and some were going in the wrong direction.  I wish these rose would have many more flowers, but as you can see, there was only a couple of them and then I don’t think it made any more flowers in the fall, but it continued growing even bigger. The leaves in September still looked very nice and healthy. It seems to be a very vigorous, strong rose.

Here it is in the middle of September 2016 when it was blooming again, but then it had only a couple of flowers close to the ground.
Here it is in the middle of September 2016 when it was blooming again, but then it had only a couple of flowers close to the ground.

A close up of one of the flowers of Eden rose in the middle of September, 2016. By then it looked much more like Eden’s rose flowers are supposed to be. Only why there were so few of them? I guess this rose needed more time to establish itself. I hope it will have many more beautiful flowers this year. Judging by its strength, is seems to have a great potential for producing them.

Eden rose blooming in our garden in the middle of September, 2016. At this time the flowers seem to have a bit more pink and cream colour than when this rose was blooming in June and July of that year. I think the flowers have improved and then looked more like how Eden rose is supposed to be, but I wish there would have been many more flowers.
Eden rose blooming in our garden in the middle of September, 2016. At this time the flowers seem to have a bit more pink and cream colour than when this rose was blooming in June and July of that year. I think the flowers have improved and then looked more like how Eden rose is supposed to be, but I wish there would have been many more flowers.

Eden rose seemed to be quite resistant to cold and kept its leaves for a long time, but after a few frosts, in the second part of October and November they were more often attacked by insects and some started to look damaged and dried out.

Finally I have cut this rose a bit, so it would be easier to protect it from cold winter. I have added a few inches of cedar chips mulch over its roots and then wrapped it in the metal net and then in burlap, as you can see in the picture below. This rose has survived the winter quite well and now in April it has leaf buds with will be opening soon. We are now in the last week of April.

Eden rose in our garden protected form winter around the end of November, 2016. By this time we already had several light frosts.
Eden rose in our garden protected form winter around the end of November, 2016. By this time we already had several light frosts.

I look forward to seeing how this rose will be growing and performing in our garden this year. I hope it will be blooming much more profusely than last year and that the flowers will be more colourful and long lasting.

Are you growing this kind of rose yourself? What are your thought about Eden rose? How it is presenting itself and growing in your garden? I look forward to your comments and tips about how to grow this rose, so it would look its best.

More Information About Eden Rose.

Other names of this rose are “Pierre de Ronsard”, “MEIviolin”, “Eden Climber” and “Eden Rose 85”.  These rose was bred by Marie-Louise (Louisette) Meilland, before 1985.  The so called “parents” of Eden rose are (Danse des Sylphes x Handel) X Pink Wonder, Cl.

There is also a very beautiful red variety of Eden rose, which, I will probably buy as well, if I can find it. This cultivar was hybridized by Alain Meilland in 2002.

Eden rose has so far one so called “child rose” and it is “White Eden” rose.

As I have already mentioned, Eden rose is quite vigorous bush rose with a lot of nice foliage and it is a pretty disease-resistant plant. It is very versatile, repeat blooming climber (I guess once well established), which can be trained on various support like fences, trellises, along wires stretched on walls and around gazebos. It is supposed to be pretty hardy when compered to many other climbers, and because of its beauty and other qualities it is considered as one of the best rose climbers.

It can grow quite large – from 4-12 feet. Also it can be pretty wide with a spread of 3-4 feet (about 90-120 cm), so make sure you give it enough space to grow and provide some support. You will need to fasten the branches to the supporting structures and direct them where you want them to go.  You might need to cut a few branches to shape it and allow some space between them since when growing too close they can become too crowded and more susceptible to insects and disease.

Lighting requirements – it is best to grow Eden rose in full sun.

The flowers could be quite large – 4-5″ and their shape is quite full, globular, deeply cupped, as you can see in some of my pictures. The flowers usually have 40-100 petals and their colour is a blend of quite original pastel pinks, cream yellow and white.  They grow in clusters, and from my experience, they seem to have a tendency to hang a bit down. It could be a good thing if your rose is already pretty tall, so the faces of the flowers could be more visible when admired from below.

To make sure your roses are healthy and blooming well, I think it is best to fertilize them once per month with a proper rose fertilizer, starting at the beginning of the growing season in your area (here in zone 5b it is usually around the beginning of April). Then fertilize it no longer than up to 2 months before the estimated first frost. Some people say to fertilize roses only till the beginning of July, but I think if roses don’t receive enough fertilizer a bit later in season, they don’t bloom as nicely and become more susceptible to insects and disease.

Eden rose is rated as suitable for up to zone 5 and warmer, so it needs winter protection in colder climate. If you would like to learn more about how to take care of your roses before winter, you can read my article “How to Prepare Roses for Winter“.

Is Eden Rose Worth Growing?

Overall, I think it is a beautiful rose and I have read many very good opinion about this climber. I was not too happy with how it bloomed in my garden last year, since it was only blooming a little bit in the second half of June and the beginning of July, and then it had a couple of flowers in September, but perhaps it just needed some more time to get established, as most roses do. I hope it will live up to what I have read about it and bloom very abundantly for us this year. If not, I might need to move it to a more sunny spot in our garden. I hope it won’t be necessary since it is already quite large.

Copyright Info.

All photographs and this article are copyrighted by me, Renata Ratajczyk. I you would like to use my article, or any of my photographs in your publications, or on your website, please contact me. Thank you.

Please Share this Article and Subscribe to Vibrant Garden Blog.

If you like this blog article, please share it with whoever else might be interested. I also encourage you to subscribe to my Vibrant Garden blog to receive automatic updates. You can follow it via WordPress or e-mail. You will find “subscribe” and “follow” buttons on the right. Than you.

Other Articles You Might Also Like.

  1. The Memorial Day Rose – Queen of Our Garden.
  2. How to Prepare Roses from Winter.
  3. Seven Important Questions to Ask When Choosing Plants for Your Garden.
  4. How I Have Started My First Garden – Part 1: Deciding Where to Grow Flowers, Vegetables and Herbs.

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

