Flowers · Gardening · lilies

Summer Beauties – Lilies From Our Garden.

Yellow-red daylilies blooming in front of our house in the middle of July and the beginning of August.
Yellow-red daylilies blooming in front of our house in the middle of July and the beginning of August.

July and the beginning of August is a period when lilies are blooming in our garden.

Common Daylilies

When we have purchased our house less than 3 years ago, besides some weeds, the only flowers which were blooming there were orange daylilies. We also had two other kind of daylilies in front of our house – rusty brown and yellow with red center.

Yellow daylilies flowering in front of our house.
Yellow daylilies flowering in front of our house.

In our garden, which is in zone 5b, lilies usually start blooming in the beginning of July. This year they were about 10 days late because we had extremely rainy and cool spring and summer. It was raining and continues to rain almost every day for several months starting in April.

Common orange colour daylily in our garden. It is very easy to grow and spreads pretty fast via its tubers.
Common orange colour daylily in our garden. It is very easy to grow and spreads pretty fast via its tubers.

Since we have purchased our house, I have removed many daylilies from our backyard  replacing them with other perennials. I like daylilies, but they took over the left side of our garden and also were too crowded. Besides, dayliies bloom only for about one month and then their leaves slowly die. I wanted to add other perennials flowering at different times, or for a longer period which will bring more variety to our garden and improve the view from our living room.

Rusty colour daylilies blooming in front of our house.
Rusty colour daylilies blooming in front of our house.

I don’t like killing plants if they can bring beauty and joy to other people, so each time when I have dug out some of the lilies or other plants we didn’t need, I have given some to our neighbors or advertised that I am giving them for free to anybody who might like them. It looks like a good idea since all of the plants have found new homes and I hope whoever got them is happy with bringing them to their garden, or perhaps planting them in front of their house.

I have even donated some of them, including houseplants, to a school with was looking for plants to add to their building and to a new greenhouse.  So when you are getting rid of the plants, if they are healthy and non-invasive, you might be able to find a new good home for them. Only keep in mind that some plants could be toxic so if you have this kind, you should warn people against getting them if they have small children or pets.

Purple Prince Lily Tree in Our Garden.

Purple Prince Lily Tree blooming in our garden in 2016.
Purple Prince Lily Tree blooming in our garden in 2016.

Back to our lilies, besides the 3 varieties I have already mentioned, we also have giant purple lilies called “Purple Prince Lily Tree” (Lilium “Purple Prince”), which I have purchased last year from Breck’s. It is suitable for zone 3-10 and can grow from 3-8 feet.  I have planted them between our two roses – Memorial Day and Othello since I think it will work well with their also pink shades and can create a nice background for them.

Last year this lilies remained quite small growing to only about 2 feet, but this year they have grown higher to about 3 feet. I think it might take them a while to grow much taller, assuming they like the soil and their place in the garden.  They would probably get bigger if we had more sunshine this year. I left for a vacation before they started to bloom.

Gloriosa Superba Lily – an Amazing Tropical Flower.

A beautiful tropical Gloriosa lily flower growing in our garden. It was supposed to be an annual in our growing zone. If the tubers would be taken out for the winter and properly stored, they can be planted next year. Some plants are poisonous, like this one, but it is also used for medicinal purposes. Particularly dangerous are its tubers, and when eaten they can be deadly.
A beautiful tropical Gloriosa lily flower growing in our garden. It was supposed to be an annual in our growing zone. If the tubers would be taken out for the winter and properly stored, they can be planted next year. Some plants are poisonous, like this one, but it is also used for medicinal purposes. Particularly dangerous are its tubers, and when eaten they can be deadly.

Another beautiful lily we had in our garden last year was tropical Gloriosa Superba, which I have grown from a tuber. It is amazingly beautiful, dark red flowers with some yellow trims and can climb to up to 9 feet. It is native to tropical parts of Africa, Asia and it has naturalized in Australia, Pacific area and some other regions where the climate is suitable. In our zone 5b it is very unlikely it would survive the winter. It was blooming beautifully in our garden last year for about 3 weeks and has grown to about 3 feet.

I was trying to take it out from the ground before winter, but it got stuck under the old tree trunk to which it seemed to be attached. I would have to break it to take it out so I have decided to leave it there. I added a deep layer of cedar woodchips mulch on the top of it (about 5″) to protect it from freezing.

I didn’t see any sign of Gloriosa lily in our garden till the beginning of July this year, so I thought it simply died. To my surprise, I have notices a tuber growing out from the ground beside the place where I had it last year. It looks to me like the same plant, so I hope it will grow and bloom this year as well. Perhaps it is growing already, but I am still away traveling, so I can not keep an eye on it.  I hope it has naturalized in our garden thanks to the protection it had underground and from so deep cover of mulch, which I have removed only after the danger of frost had passed. If you like this lily, I invite you to find out more about it in my other article, I have dedicated to this plant.

Black Beauty Lilly – a New Addition to Our Garden.

Close up on the "Black Beauty" oriental lily in the Niagara Park's Botanical Gardens.
Close up of the “Black Beauty” oriental lily in the Niagara Park’s Botanical Gardens. For now we only have 2 such lilies in our garden and I hope they will grow equally well as in Niagara’s park.

This year in the late spring I have bought 2 Black Beauties lilies at our local Vandermeer Nursery. I was looking for them after I have noticed this great looking lilies at the Niagara Park’s Botanical Gardens last year.

I have planted them between our Poseidon rose, growing at the end of flower bed on the right of our garden, and the miniature blue-lavender butterfly bush. They were growing well and now started to bloom. I don’t have any pictures of them yet, but I will add them later to this post once I get them. For more information about this lilies and to see more pictures please see my article about them here.

Please Comment on this Blog.

Do you have any lilies in your garden and which one do you like the most and why? Please share your experience and comments with us. Thank you.

Following and Sharing this Blog.

If you like this article, please share it with other people who might be inserted in reading it as well.  Thank you. I  encourage you to follow or subscribe to this blog to receive automatic updates, so you won’t miss future posts.  I look forward to your comments.

The Copyright.

All photographs and this article are copyrighted by me, Renata Ratajczyk unless otherwise mentioned. I you would like to use any of them in your publications or on your website, please contact me.

Other Articles You Might Also Like to Read.

  1. Flowers and Shrubs Blooming in our Garden in June and July – Part 1.
  2. Flowers and Shrubs Blooming in our Garden in June and July – Part 2.
  3. Roses Blooming in our garden – Part 1.
  4. Roses Blooming in our garden – Part 2.
  5. Gloriosa Superba lily – tropical beauty.
  6. Black Beauty lily.
  7. Visiting Niagara Park’s Botanical Gardens, Part 1.
  8. Visiting Niagara Park’s Botanical Gardens, Part 2.
  9. A Beautiful Italian Garden For You to Visit – “Giardino Sigurtà” in Valeggio sul Mincio, Northern Italy.
  10. Growing Eden Climbing Rose.
  11. How to Choose Best Tomato Plants for Younr Garden – Part 1.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

