Flowers · Gardening · Seeds Selling Companies

Poppies – Easy-going and So Colourful Flowers for Your Garden.

Purple Peony Poppy flower blooming in our garden.
Purple Peony Poppy flower blooming in our garden.

If you are looking for easy-going flowers for your garden, which bloom during the summer, you might  like to grow colourful poppy flowers.
I have grown various poppies in our garden and I particularly like those which look very full, more like some peonies.

Rose Peony Poppy. I was growing them in my garden as well, but didn't take any pictures of them. This picture is courtesy of Baker Creek Rare Seeds.
Rose Peony Poppy. I was growing them in our garden as well, but I forgot to take good pictures of them. This photograph is a courtesy of Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds company. As you can see, this flower looks quite similar to the Purple Peony poppy, but has a different colour.

I have grown poppy flowers from seeds and I have tried several varieties. I have purchased some from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds and others from The Cottage Gardener.  I have tried Purple and Rose Peony poppies from Baker Creek.

There are even so called Black Peony poppies, as you can see here. They are not really black, but very dark purple. I didn't try them in my garden yet, but I might give them a try this year if I purchase the seeds. This picture is courtesy of Baker Creek Rare Seeds company from USA.
There are even so called Black Peony poppies, as you can see here. They are not really black, but very dark purple. I didn’t try them in my garden yet, but I might give them a try this year if I purchase the seeds. This picture is a courtesy of Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds company from the USA.

I really like the peony variety of these flower. Indeed they almost look like some of the peonies, as you can see in several pictures here. I have also given a try to other, more traditional looking poppies. Below is one of the beautiful dark purple poppy flowers growing in our garden.

Poppy flower growing in our garden. I am not sure what is this variety.
Poppy flower growing in our garden. I am not sure what is this variety.

I have planted the poppies in two places in our garden where I still had some space available and they were growing there very well. I think the places I have selected for them were maybe not the best, since they like more sun, but nevertheless, once they started producing flower sometime in July, they were constantly blooming till about the middle of August and some of them even till September adding a lot of colour and beauty to our garden.

These flowers seem easy to grow, but only short lasting – usually a 1-3 days, depending on weather. However since poppies constantly make many new flowers while they are at the top of their blooming period, this is not a big issue because old flowers just drop their petals and new flower grow beside them.

Various poppy flowers growing in our garden.
Various poppy flowers growing in our garden along climbing flowering sweet pea. They compliment each other very well and like similar lighting conditions.

You can even collect edible poppy seeds from some poppies varieties.

This poppy looked different. Again, I am sorry but I am not sure what is this variety. It doesn't look like any poppy I have ordered and there was only one plant like that in my garden. I guess it was some sort of hybrid poppy which somehow got in with other poppy seeds. It had simple and smaller flowers, but still it was quite beautiful.
This poppy looked different. Again, I am sorry but I am not sure what is this variety. It doesn’t look like any poppy I have ordered and there was only one plant like that in our garden. I guess it was some sort of hybrid poppy which somehow got in with other poppy seeds. It had simple looking and smaller flowers, but still it was quite beautiful.

I think these flowers are worth trying out if you have a sunny spot that needs a lot of colour during summer months and if there is not too much wind. Poppy flowers have pretty soft flower stalks and delicate petals, so it is best to avoid windy areas. You might also need to provide some support. It is probably best to plant them where they will receive a lot of sun and in a spot sheltered from strong winds – for example besides a sunny wall or close to the fence, which can provide some extra support.

Another view on this different looking poppy flower in our garden.
Another view on this different looking poppy flower in our garden. I think it looks a bit like a dancing ballerina.

Copyright Info.

All photographs and this article are copyrighted by me, Renata Ratajczyk, except two pictures copyrighted by the Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds company, as mentioned beside their 2 photographs . I you would like to use my article or any of my photographs in your publications ,or on your website, please contact me. Thank you.

The Gallery.

In the gallery below you will be able to see all the pictures from this article.

Other Articles You Might Also Like.

  1. Seven Important Questions to Ask When Choosing Plants for Your Garden.
  2. How I Have Started My First Garden – Part 1: Deciding Where to Grow Flowers, Vegetables and Herbs.
  3. Are All Weeds Bad? Burdock in Our Garden and How You Can Use It. Starting and Designing Our First Garden – Part 2.
  4. My Autumn Joy – Little Blue Flower – Rocky Diamond Blue Heart.
  5. The Memorial Day Rose – Queen of Our Garden.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Poppies – Easy-going and So Colourful Flowers for Your Garden.

Leave a Reply

